Select an image in the grid to learn more about associations with the sign of Sagittarius.

Sagittarius: Flowers Sagittarius: Glyph Sagittarius: Ruling Planet Sagittarius: Element Sagittarius: Symbol Sagittarius: Modality Sagittarius: Ruling Planet Glyph Sagittarius: Constellation Sagittarius: Metal Sagittarius: Gem Sagittarius: Colors Sagittarius: House Association

Sagittarius: Flowers

The flowers associated with Sagittarius are the carnation (depicted, and representing good luck and pure love), hydrangea (representing earnestness, prosperity, and abundance), and peony (representing honor and abundance).

Sagittarius: Glyph

The glyph for the sign of Sagittarius is depicted here.

As a symbol of the Archer, the Sagittarian glyph resembles an arrow. This glyph symbolizes the desire for direction, a higher purpose, and abundance. It represents the eternal quest.

Sagittarius: Ruling Planet

Jupiter is Sagittarius' planetary ruler.

Jupiter symbolizes reach, broader purpose, and possibilities. Jupiter is a moral, just, and truth-seeking force. The first of the social planets, Jupiter seeks insight through knowledge. Optimism and growth (including mental and spiritual growth) come under its rule. On the up side, Jupiter is associated with a sense of humor, good will, and mercy. The more negative manifestations of Jupiter include blind optimism, excess, and overindulgence. Irresponsibility that results from blind optimism, not ill will, can be displayed.

Sagittarius: Element

Sagittarius' element is FireThere are three Fire signs: Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius. Fire signs are spontaneous, reactive, and assertive.

With Fire, we have pride, passion, courage, creativity, and impulse -- all traits associated with Sagittarius.

Sagittarius: Symbol

The symbol for Sagittarius is the Centaur or Archer.

Sagittarius is symbolized by the Archer–half-man, half-horse. This represents the Sagittarian’s attempt to free itself from man’s animal nature. The centaur is thought to symbolize the development of the human soul. It symbolizes the animal natures and desires of man, as well as its spiritual aspirations. In Greek mythology, centaurs were adventurous, brave, and wise, although also given to brawling and uncivilized behavior.

Sagittarius: Modality

Sagittarius' modality is MUTABLE. There are four mutable signs: Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, and Pisces.

Mutable signs are flexible, adaptable, and changeable. Although they can be inconsistent and lack follow-through, they are ready to make small changes and adjustments to accommodate others.

Sagittarius: Ruling Planet Glyph

The glyph of Sagittarius' planetary ruler, Jupiter, is depicted here.

Jupiter's glyph, or symbol, shows the crescent of receptivity rising above the cross of matter. This symbolizes Jupiter’s role in raising our awareness beyond the physical world. Jupiter encourages us to reach, expand, and improve.

Sagittarius: Constellation

This is a depiction of the constellation, Sagittarius.

Sagittarius: Metal

The sign of Sagittarius is associated with the metal tin, depicted here.

Tin represents knowledge, wisdom, balance, philosophy, and mediation. It's also connected to prosperity.

Sagittarius: Gem

Gems associated with Sagittarius include the azurite, blue sapphire, and topaz (depicted here).

Sagittarius: Colors

Sagittarius is associated with the color turquoise, representing calm, wisdom, good luck, joy, and intuition.

Sagittarius: House Association

Sagittarius is the ninth astrological sign and is associated with the ninth house.

The ninth house rules our personal belief system, our sense of adventure, exploration, religious beliefs and personal philosophy, higher education, long-distance travel, morals, foreign languages and cultures, personal truths, publishing, commerce.