Select individual icons in the image grid for more information about Libra and Libra associations.

Libra: Ruling Planet Libra: Glyph Libra: Flowers Libra: Element Libra: Symbol Libra: Modality Libra: Ruling Planet Glyph Libra: Constellation Libra: Metal Libra: Gem Libra: Colors Libra: House Association

Libra: Ruling Planet

The ruling planet of Libra is Venus, depicted here.

Through Venus, we learn about our tastes, pleasures, artistic inclinations, love life, attitude towards money, and desire for harmony and peace.

Libra seeks balance, harmony, and equality. Libra is artistic and has a keen sense of balance and eye for beauty. Libra achieves its goals through the powers of attraction and diplomacy.

Libra: Glyph

Libra's glyph is shown here.

This glyph or symbol can, on the one hand, represent the setting sun. It can also symbolize scales for weighing and is representative of "approximately equal to" -- Libra is constantly seeking balance and equality, measuring and weighing matters carefully.

The scales are a symbol of justice.

Libra: Flowers

Flowers associated with Libra are the rose (depicted here and representing love, beauty, and passion) and the Narcissus (representing rebirth, inner reflection, inspiration, and on the negative side, vanity).

Libra: Element

Libra's element is AIR. There are three Air signs: Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius. Air signs are intellectual, detached, and fair-minded.

While Air signs share the same element of Air, they each have a different modality: Gemini is Mutable Air, Libra is Cardinal Air, and Aquarius is Fixed Air.

Libra: Symbol

The symbol for Libra is the Scales.

Libra measures and weighs matters carefully. The scales are a symbol of justice. Libra seeks equality, balance, and harmony. The scales symbol is apt for this fair-minded sign that is especially focused on evening the score and balancing give-and-take. Libra is brilliant at seeing the other side of a situation.

Libra: Modality

Libra's mode is Cardinal. There are four Cardinal signs: Aries, Cancer, Libra, and Capricorn.

Cardinal signs want action! They correspond to the beginning of each of the four seasons.

Libra: Ruling Planet Glyph

Depicted here, the glyph or symbol used to represent Libra's ruling planet, Venus.

The Venus glyph reveals spirit (circle) over matter (cross). It is similar to the glyph of Mercury, but minus a crescent, reflecting the evaluation of sensations and experiences through the feelings, as opposed to rational thought.

Libra: Constellation

The constellation of Libra is depicted here.

Libra: Metal

The metal associated with Libra is copper.

Copper is the metal of Venus. Copper has enhancing properties, much like the sign of Libra, and is associated with beauty, love, artistry, and sensuality.

Libra: Gem

Libra is associated with a number of gemstones, including sapphire, the smoky quartz , jade, chrysolitemarble and the diamond (strength, commitment, and endurance).

Libra: Colors

Colors associated with the sign of Libra are pastel green (representing harmony, love, freshness, and vitality), rose pink, and indigo blue.

Libra: House Association

Libra is the seventh sign of the zodiac and is also associated with the seventh house.

The seventh house rules companionship, the alter ego, partnerships, one-to-one relationships, marriage, the first marriage, the “significant other”, business partnerships, competitors, our “shadow self”, lawyers, mediators, counselors, contracts, and more.